RSS

Cafe Latte or Cappuccino?

29 Aug

Before we started making coffee drinks at HeBrews, I never knew the difference between a cafe latte and a cappuccino. I don’t remember the first time I ordered an espresso-based coffee drink, but I probably ordered the same drink that the person I was with ordered. I tend to be indecisive (ask Brian and he’ll gladly tell you what restaurant-ordering has been like for the past 29 years), so it was to the benefit of all those behind me in line that I ordered in copycat fashion.

I have since learned from different sources that a cafe latte is  espresso and steamed milk with a small amount of foam on top, and a cappuccino is equal parts espresso, steamed milk and foam. Simply put, the cafe latte is milkier than its cousin, the cappuccino!

The majority of HeBrews’ coffee drinkers order cafe lattes with flavored syrup. Caramel and vanilla are consistent favorites at HeBrews, but if you allow Cafe Mocha to join in the race, it comes out on top more days than not.

I’ve come to believe that, in my case, the art of mastering the espresso machine’s frothing wand–key in the process of cafe latte and cappuccino making– is going to be a lifelong process. But hopefully, while I’m on my journey to frothing-mastery, customers are enjoying their choice of cafe lattes and cappuccinos!

What’s your favorite–cafe latte or cappuccino?  Something else, perhaps?

~Tina

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 29, 2011 in Food, HeBrews

 

One response to “Cafe Latte or Cappuccino?

  1. coffee

    August 31, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Caps are very good! I love wet ones with nice rich foam…. I could eat a cup of foam every day!

     

Leave a Reply

 
