RSS

Daily Archives: February 3, 2011

Evolution of the Sooner Oat Cookie

Back in the mid-80’s I graduated from THE Oklahoma school (OSU)–back when the football field was called Lewis Field and the College of Education was housed in Gundersen instead of Willard. Many years have passed since I stood on a stage at Lewis Field shaking President Boger’s hand as I received my diploma, but time doesn’t change the fact that I’ll always be a Cowboy at heart.

All this to say it caused me great pain last month to name a cookie after the Sooners. But you must know that the cookie originally had a neutral name. I created the cookie recipe in December and called them “Holiday Oat” cookies.  Customers loved them, but after the holidays were over,  “Holiday Oat” cookie didn’t make sense, so I had to think up a new name. I tried “Fancy Oat” for January’s first batch, but it just didn’t sit well with me.

The next time I baked them, it hit me that the cranberries and white chocolate chips resemble OU’s school colors. I had to convince myself that we could have 2 items on our menu that refer to OU–the Sooner Turkey & Swiss and now the Sooner Oat Cookie–but I relented and the name has stuck. Well, I’m letting it stick because I have a plan to add another menu item named after OSU–the first being our most popular sandwich–the Pistol Pete Chicken Pesto (Side note: most customers would agree with me–this sandwich is absolutely divine served on a toasted Asiago Cheese bagel.)

So, OSU Fans do not despair!!! I am working on a recipe for a “Cowboy” cookie, and it’s sure to be delicious, so stay tuned! Meanwhile, if you want to bake up a batch of delicious oatmeal cookies, try the recipe below–and feel free to give it a name that suits your favorite team. Go Pokes!!

Sooner Oat Cookies
1 c. butter, softened
1/4 c. raw sugar
1/2 c. white sugar
3/4 c. brown sugar, packed
1 T. molasses
2 egg yolks
1/4 c. half n half
1 T. vanilla
2 1/2  c. oats
2 c. flour
1 t. baking soda
1 t. salt
1 c. dried cranberries
1 1/2 c. white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 Cream butter, sugar &  molasses together well. Add egg yolks, half n half, and vanilla, blending well. Stir in oats, flour, baking soda & salt. Add dried cranberries & white chocolate chips. Mix well. Drop by rounded tablespoon on a lightly greased or non-stick cookie sheet. Bake for 9-11 minutes.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 3, 2011 in Food