RSS

My Sugar Fixation

21 Jan

Baking at HeBrews involves working with sugar–and not just once in awhile–it’s literally  in every recipe I bake–white, brown, raw & powdered–they’re all stocked up in the HeBrews kitchen. I can’t count how many times I’ve told people that cookies are my favorite food group, and I’ve definitely eaten my fair share (and then some) in the past. Yes, I know eating too much sugar is not the healthiest option, but that head knowledge only goes so far when it comes to temptation!  Since the new year began, I’ve been taking a break from my daily dose of sugar, and I have to say I feel better; however, I don’t think it’s realistic to go sugar free for the rest of my life, especially when I’m baking with it every day!

So, my compromise is to pick ONE item each day to get my sugar fix. (And by ONE, I don’t mean ONE batch of cookies or ONE pie or ONE cake.) The compromise means I have to be intentional and discriminating. I have to practice  self-control each and every day (something I learned about years ago in Tae Kwon Do training, but that’s another blog for another day).

So, in my fantasy world, if I were to start today,  I would get to choose between a Butter Pecan muffin, Cranberry Walnut Scone, Cinnamon Roll Scone, Sugar Cookie w/ Icing, or Chocolate Chip  Cookie. Needless to say, the Sugar Cookie wins hands down. Something about the buttery, soft center and lightly almond-flavored sugar icing.

But, alas, not today–the once-a-day-sugar-fix doesn’t start until next week.

Ready, Set, Go–here’s to my new-found self-control!

~Tina

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in Food, HeBrews

 

One response to “My Sugar Fixation

  1. Kathy

    January 23, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I’ve just recently discovered your snickerdoodle cookies! Why do you remind us to use self control NOW!!!!!

    I enjoyed your blog post.
    Thanks,
    Kathy

     

Leave a comment