RSS

Homemade Granola

06 Mar

I’m sitting at the table in my kitchen, smelling the oat & vanilla aroma coming from the oven. Today I’m trying out a basic vanilla granola recipe that had great ratings on this web site.  After reading 95 reviews–yes, I am one of those people who reads reviews before I try something new. Geeky I know, but I figure it’s wise to read what others have to say who have tried something before me! Anyway, after reading through the reviews, I made a few modifications based on what I read, and one batch is baking right now.  I decreased the amount of brown sugar, left out the cinnamon, used melted butter instead of oil, and added pecans to the first batch. One thing I learned from the 95 reviews is that there is no end to the variety of ingredients you can add to homemade granola! Also, be sure to wait until the granola has come out of the oven before adding dried fruit, but once it’s cooled off, add your favorite dried fruit–raisins,  cranberries, cherries, blueberries, apricots, etc.

The second batch is mixed up & waiting for its turn in the oven. I added a variety of seeds this time–pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, and then subbed pecans & cashews for the almonds. I’m also going to try brown rice syrup in place of the honey this time.  I became a fan of brown rice syrup last year when we were eating a vegan diet.  I would really like to have honey from my own bee hive, but there’s no time to tend to bee hives when we’re about to launch HeBrews!

The coffee shop is coming right along. Our espresso machine has been serviced and is up to speed–we’re just waiting for some final construction-type items to be completed. Then it’s on to finalizing our menu/prices and going through some trial runs before we open. It’s amazing to look back and see how much has been completed, and at the same time it seems to be taking forever! We are doing our best to practice patience. (See our most recent addition…a brand new heating unit thanks to the Ardmore H2OChurch campus here.)

So, in the meantime, while we’re patiently awaiting our opening date, whoever comes to H2OChurch.tv on Sundays gets to sample the recipes I’m using for HeBrews.  Everyone get ready to sample Homemade Granola tomorrow morning!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 6, 2010 in Food

 

Leave a Reply

 
