RSS

Muffin-Testing Time

14 Jan

For the past few months, I have been experimenting with lots of different recipes for muffins, and then taking them to church to “test” them on everyone there (very willing guinea pigs so far!) Last week, I made Snickerdoodle Muffins, and everyone said they tasted just like Snickerdoodle Cookies–which is exactly what I was aiming for. Alas, I wasn’t able to test one myself since I’m still on my Daniel Fast, but I will be finished 1 week from today, so I will be sure to have one from the next batch, and I will be sure to share my thoughts with you then.

Two weeks ago, I made a variation of this muffin as my test recipe. My hungry family ate them all up, so they never made it to church, but everyone in this house loved them–if eating more than one is any clue! I have subscribed (thanks to a yearly Christmas gift from my mom) to Taste of Home magazine for many years. They have lots of contributing editors throughout the country who submit recipes for the magazine, and, in addition, they have a contest in each magazine for some group of food, such as pies, appetizers, pasta–you get the idea. As I recall, this recipe was one of the winners for a contest featuring muffins. I have made a couple of changes in the recipe–I have to say that I’m not a huge fan of mini chocolate chips–especially when I know there are bigger chips out there just waiting to be added to a recipe! My favorites are Ghiradelli’s 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate, but I’m satisfied with their semi-sweet chocolate chips too. So, that’s one change I made in the recipe. I also like to use raw sugar to replace the white sugar–sometimes all, sometimes half–depends on the recipe. The special spread was a winner in our household, and I did use mini chocolate chips as the receipe calls for.

My son is an avid photographer and shot the muffin picture for me…complete with rising steam. He’s taken some other pictures of my concoctions, so be on the lookout for those in the future. If you’d like to see more of his work, feel free to visit his photostream on Flickr. Thanks, Zack!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 14, 2010 in Food

 

Leave a Reply

 
