RSS

It’s the Season for Cold!

06 Jan

Now that’s an understatement! Brian read the weather forecast to me at the dinner table, and I guess it’s going to get even colder! I am not a fan of cold weather, but I DO love the change in seasons. We lived in Arizona in 1997-98, and, although it was beautiful where we lived (Fountain Hills), I definitely missed the change in seasons I had experienced my whole life as an Oklahoman.  In Arizona, there were only two seasons that I could discern–extremely hot and pleasantly mild.

For the past few months, I feel like I am walking over the threshold into a new season in my life.  At 46, I have experienced several seasons, including (but not limited too–ha ha, I’ve always wanted to say that!) high school, college, teaching 2nd graders, being a stay-at-home mom with 3 children, homeschooling, working from home, giving my life to Christ (Yea!!), working for a church, and now planting a church that just so happens to have a coffee shop–HeBrews–associated with it! Phew, I get a little worn out typing up that list, let alone living it!

This season I am entering is brand new and not something I would have ever pictured myself doing. Many times I have taken the easy, or predictable, path–like going to college in my hometown. Other times I have veered off the path to do the unexpected–like choosing to homeschool my children when I had been a public school teacher! One thing I’ve learned since I started living  as a Christ follower 5 years ago, is that God has a plan for my life. His plan is to prosper me and not to harm me, to give me a hope and a future (Jer. 29:11) and that is an amazing thing to comprehend. The God of our universe loves little bitty ol’ me enough to have a plan for MY life! He has definitely seen me through many different seasons, even when I was unaware that He was walking with me.

Since January 1st, I have committed to follow a Daniel Fast for 21 days.  (Read about the Daniel Fast here.) I am undertaking this fast to further develop my relationship with God–to focus on Him and His plan for me.  When I crave the foods and drinks I’m giving up for three weeks, I will be prompted to turn my thoughts to God. I believe this fast will help usher me into the new season I’m entering…by listening to the whispers from God throughout my day, I can walk through the door and embrace what He has in store for me.

‘Til next time!

~Tina

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in About Me, Random Thoughts

 

One response to “It’s the Season for Cold!

  1. Helen

    January 13, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Great blog…. I cannot wait to see what He has in store for you. Good luck with your fasting… Some words of encouragement…2 Corinthians 12: 9-10. Haha… never given these scriptures for a fast before… 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
